Finding it tough to stay on top of how First Home Owner Grants work in your state or territory? Don’t worry – we’ve got you covered. Read on to find your quick and easy guide to how First Home Owner Grants work.

The First Home Owner Grant (FHOG) varies based on exactly where you live, which can make it tricky to keep up – and that’s before you take into account the fact that the rules change on a yearly basis. What was the case last year isn’t necessarily going to be the same this year. As a result, it can be difficult to know exactly what you’re entitled to as a first-time buyer.

So, What Exactly is the First Home Owner Grant (FHOG)?

The FHOG was brought in back in 2000 to reduce the impact the GST had on home buyers. It offers first-home buyers with a one-time payment to help them get their feet on the ladder.

Depending on your location in Australia, the amount you could get will vary from $7,000-$26,000. However, if you’re buying with someone else, you need to bear in mind that it’ll usually need to be their first home purchase too.

Can I Get the FHOG?

As mentioned, each state has different eligibility criteria. Take a look at what you can get from your state:

  • ACT – New builds up to $750,000 – $7,000
  • NSW – New builds up to $750,0000 – $10,000
  • NT – Any new home – $26,000
  • QLD – New builds up to $750,000 – $20,000
  • SA – New builds up to $575,000 – $15,000
  • TAS – New builds up to $750,000 – $10,000
  • VIC – New builds up to $750,000 – $10,000 (Regional new builds – $20,000)
  • WA – Properties south of the 26th parallel up to $750,000, or up to $1,000,000 north the 26th parallel – $10,000

When Can I Expect My Grant?

When you’ll get your grant will vary based on where you live. As a result, if you need to know, it’s advised that you check with your local state authority.

How can I Apply for a FHOG?

There are a couple of ways you can apply for your FHOG. You can choose between:

  • Asking your home loan provider to lodge an application for you
  • Lodging an application personally with your local authority

What Other Concessions can I Take?

It doesn’t stop with the FHOG. As a first-time buyer, there are 2 other main concession types you can claim:

  • Stamp Duty – in some states, you’ll be entitled to a discounted or completely waived stamp duty, within property price limits.
  • Concessions for regional properties – if you buy a property in a regional area, you might be eligible for a larger grant.

Stay Tuned for Future Updates

Territory and state governments make frequent changes to the FHOG to stay on top of housing affordability and other prevalent issues in Australian real estate. As a result, if you’re planning to buy your first property within the next few years, you should check back regularly to see how these changes will affect you.

The information and links provided on this website are for general information only and should not be taken as constituting professional advice. This information does not take into account the financial situation or particular needs of individual readers. Before making any decisions about matters discussed on this website, you should consider whether it is suitable for you in light of your own circumstances, and seek appropriate advice.